The Truth about Kindness

Behind the wall of flattery, good wishes and kind words is a world of perceived lack of appreciation.  Although we do not seek gratification, we have been taught to say please and thank you and yet they are the simplest words to forget.  This is not to be mistaken for a rudeness or lack of character, just a reminder that often it is the simplest things can be forgotten.  We should not let this deter us from being kind to others, even something as small as saying “Bless you” to a person that has sneezed or thanking someone for holding a door open.  We must always remember that true kindness will for the most part go unnoticed  but do not believe it is not appreciated.  Sometimes, it is our own selves that appreciate these acts, we just have to see why.

Why should we appreciate our own acts of kindness?

The reason for this is because as most of you know, every action we take is like dropping a pebble in the ocean of our lives.  There is a ripple effect that sometimes we may not see, but it is for our own good.  Here is an example:

3 days ago I sent a message to an ex-girlfriend of mine wishing her a happy birthday.  For many days prior to that I had been contemplating whether or not I should, I was afraid to stirring up the dust that had finally began to settle.  I had asked a few people close to me whether or not this was a good idea and the general consensus was, “It won’t hurt”.  I had gotten a couple of responses saying that it wasn’t a great idea, but all in all, I felt that just because we were not speaking I was not beyond acknowledging an important day.  I sent that message and I did not get a response back.

It was to be expected.

I took to heart the idea that it wouldn’t hurt, but in truth, it did.  At first, I was hoping to get even a simple thank you but as time ticked forward I began to realize that it wasn’t necessary.  Not because I had expected no response, but because it told me that even though there was no reply I had reached out for the simplicity of trying to be a good person.  I was reminded that just because things don’t go my way, there is no reason to be sour about where my life has gone.  I have a new found love for where I’m at and the path that I’ve chosen to become a better version of myself, Shawn 2.0.

The truth about kindness is that it may, for the most part, be over looked but it is hardly ever forgotten.  It is an aspect of ourselves that we should treasure, regardless of where it’s directed.  In order to find yourself on the path of Self Improvement, we must dig deep into where our kindness lay and make it a part of our daily lives.

To be kind to another regardless of agenda is the first stone on the path to enlightenment.  If we grab onto this part of us, we will find new meaning in the word Humanity.”

One Comment Add yours

  1. Obi says:

    You’ve raised some interesting points here. My thoughts on a couple:

    1) Kindness out of habit–is it really kindness? : Most people say “bless you” when someone sneezes, but this “bless you” is often an automatic reaction based on years and years of conditioning. Do auto-reactions count as kindness? Are you really blessing them or saying it because it’s “the right thing to do”? After becoming aware of my auto-reaction to sneezes I’ve decided to no longer say bless you, because I really see no difference between a sneeze and a fart and saying “bless you” after the latter would feel just plain weird.

    2) Kindness and the expectation of response. : Kindness comes from the heart (the lover), not from the mind (the businessman). The businessman works with expectation of return. “If I do this, then I will get this.” The lover acts. Period. Regardless of the consequences and whether or not it will be crushed in return. You sent the message from your heart. The businessman wanted to know whether it was the “right thing to do”. But considering that there is no “right thing” for the lover, I would say you acted from true kindness. From love.

    If we act more from our inner lovers then we’ll more often show true kindness…then we can leave the businessmen to do what they do best: plan our vacations and do our taxes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

