Left, Wanting!

I’m not sure why asking what a person wants is such an odd question, although thankfully not to everyone.  I figure it’s because regardless of what the desire or wish may be, it’s an incredibly penetrating question that gets lost on it’s way to our decision making.  The thought equivalent to using Apple Maps to get to your destination, we sometimes drive into a lake of sacrifice.  If you really think about it, how often do you work for what you want? I know, that’s what we all work for…right? Possibly, but I feel that a majority of what we work for is what we anticipate to be what we need.

When I was in 6th grade, I was asked “Where do you see yourself in 10 year?”.   Admittedly, I was asked because I was in trouble…again…but I responded very quickly:

“All I know is, I want 7 cars”.

“Such a smarty pants, you know you need money to do that?”

“Yup, sure do” with a giant grin on my face

“And how do you plan on doing that? You can’t have nice things without a great job, how about you start being serious…”

“Ma’am, I am serious.  I don’t know how I will get it, but I can tell you that I don’t need to be a lawyer to have nice things.  I have nice things now and my mom isn’t a doctor.”

“…..”

“Can I go now? Recess is almost over”

What I knew without thought at that age was that everything is achievable, even if the path does not conform to everyone else’s standards. And while I didn’t fully understand at the time, I do now.  Recently, someone amazing told me what they wanted.  It was incredibly enlightening, because almost everything they wanted was achievable.  None of it was unequivocally unrealistic, all it would take was a dash patience and possibly a bit of serendipity.  There’s beauty in that.  In what, you ask? In not knowing that you already know the path to contentment, although admittedly temporary until the updated list of wants is thought about again.  I have written about the being our worst enemy (The Learn’d Fool), so there is no need to rehash on a prior thought, so I will instead conclude with the ending of the Excitement of Being Nowhere and Everywhere:

“When we love, our Heart is excited.  It knows where we’ve been and the heartbreak we’ve experienced and yet it tells me, Be excited.  The message here is that the darkness is behind is, let’s focus on the light ahead”

Although all signs tells us what we need is right, I say keep left because what we want is always the next stop.

 

Leave a Reply

