Why I Was Wrong

on

Very few times in ones life are we actually absolutely correct.  Perspectives vary, reasoning changes and at times, we change.  To keep an open mind is crucial when viewing a situation, not just to roll with it, but be both critical and objective with where we currently are in our lives.

Every day, we often strive to be correct.  The definition of correct certainly differs from person to person, so I have began to feel the importance of not just being right, but being wrong as well.  To not walk the boundaries and limits for the sake of doing so, but so that I may be able to closer define my own version of correctness.  I may have judged a situation correctly, but I handled it poorly.  I was correct in my assumption, but I was wrong as to the why behind the what.  I was right, but it turned out wrong.  A lot of people beat themselves up for being wrong, and most people chastise themselves as a result.  We begin to see confidence having diminishing returns as we continue to hold onto the wrong that we’ve experienced in the past.  We all know that it will be through failures that the largest lessons tend to arise, but we still fall prey to the allure that comes from being right.

We all know the saying, “If this is wrong, then I don’t want to be right!” I’ve got a belief that people regret because they made a right/best decision that didn’t turn out the way they’d hoped.  It’s why I personally do not regret.  I know that I will make mistakes, that I will be wrong and that when I am, I’m glad because I am wiser for it.  I am unafraid of the results because consequences are for purposeful wrong doing.  So, why was I wrong?  Because I was attempting to do right.

Leave a Reply

