To my Future Misses

Dear Future Misses,

Let me start off by saying that I knew you were coming, so your arrival and eventual departure was anticipated.  I keep an open mind and accept anything that arrives on my doorstep for this exact reason, so that I am not knocked off my path in case you throw me for a loop.  Your arrival, while a wonderful opportunity to explore a different part of myself, was short-lived and I remain eternally grateful that while I could not hold onto you, it is why you are now one of my Misses.  I was told throughout my life that there are no empty opportunities, only those that others caught and not having you now made me more aware of what I both wanted and needed, what I could have and what I do not, but most importantly who I was, who I am and who I will become.

I am not clairvoyant and so I do not know what the future holds, but it is because I allowed you to pass that I know that I will not allow it to happen again.  The next time I see you, if I see you, I will grab hold and hang on for dear life.  I will not allow myself to stand by idly as another reaps the benefits of your possible mess, nor will I underestimate the possible impact you will make.  I will not regret, I will not feel guilty, I will not wish for what I do not have for appreciation comes from what one has.  My life has a budget, a coffer of possibility and it is thoroughly a waste of time and energy to stand by because of fear.  If I have one life to live, I will have done so, if I am reincarnated, I will carry with me what I did not.  I will take with me my missed opportunities so that I may seize instead of cease.

 

With Love,

The Moment of Now

Leave a Reply

